Updating Where Your Messages Are Sent Using Profiles
Profile notifications can keep you up to date with what's happening in SAS Flex, even when you are not monitoring your calls! This article explains how Profiles work and how you can adjust Profile settings to make sure the right people are notified when a message comes in.
In this tutorial we'll walk you through:
What is a Profile
Specialty Answering Service Flex sends out email or SMS notifications to you when certain events take place on a script based on the association between your script and your Profile settings. These notifications are sent to the email addresses or mobile phone numbers listed in your Profiles. You can control the notifications you receive in your Profile settings based on what Profiles you associate with your script workflow.
Receive a notification of calls that result in a message, and even those that don't, without having to log into SAS Flex for the details.
Adding a new Profile
Click on the Profiles icon on the left-hand navigation panel of SAS Flex.
If there are no Profiles added, you'll see a screen like the one shown below. Click the Add Profile button to create your first Profile. If you already have profiles, the Add Profile button will be in the right corner of the Profiles table.
The Add Profile screen let's you to add transfer information, populate notification methods, and select which types of calls this Profile should be notified about. The available configurations on this page include:
- Alias: This is the name of the Profile
- Contact Numbers: Contact numbers are used for call transfers or on-call dispatching
- Contact Methods: Email addresses or mobile phone numbers to receive messages
- Notifications: What types of call outcomes you want this Profile to receive notifications about
Removing or Replacing a Profile
In the event a staff member leaves your company, you may need to remove them as a Profile or replace them with a different employee.
Within SAS Flex, go to the Profiles tab on the left-hand navigation panel.
From the main Profile list, locate the Profile you wish to remove. Then click the 3-dot icon and choose Delete.
If the Profile you are trying to delete is associated with an On-Call Schedule, On-Call Group, or any Script Block(s), an error window will appear which will tell you where those Profiles are currently linked to. Click on the hyperlink(s) to be taken to that area of the portal. You'll then need to remove the Profile(s) accordingly. Once removed, you'll be able to delete the Profile entirely.
Configuring where your messages are sent
Notifications can be in the form of an email, a text message, or both. You configure them all through the Profile.
On the Profile page, the Contact Methods section is where you determine how you'll be notified of messages.
Receive an email notification
If you select Email, all messages will be emailed to the addresses that you input. Emails from our system will be sent from email@example.com.
After activating the Email toggle, you can choose between the the following options:
- Use default email: The default Flex email template includes all data the agent collected during the call.
- Use custom email: Customize the subject line and the body of the email template associated with this Profile.
Receive a text notification
If you select SMS, all messages will be texted to the phone numbers that you input . SMS messages will be sent from your SAS Forwarding Number.
After activating the SMS toggle, you can choose between the following options:
- Use default message: The default Flex SMS template sends the callers first and last name, phone number, and any message they may have left.
- Send all collected data: Receive a text message with all data we collected during the call, as well as the Caller ID and the Outcome.
- Customize your text message: Customize the text message template associated with this Profile.
Customizing your Texts and Emails
To make sure you are using the correct format for the script variables you want sent, find the field you wish to gather under the Select field dropdown. Once selected, it will populate in the correct format in the Copy merge field box. Copy and paste that format into your text box.
Turn on message notifications for specific outcomes
When the notification method is added, you'll need to decide what type of calls you want to be notified about.
The Notifications section lists all Closing blocks that have been created across all scripts you've created in Flex.
To receive a notification for certain types of calls, or to stop receiving notifications, turn the switch off or on. For example, we'll turn notifications on for General Messages, which means the emails or mobile phones within this Profile will receive all notifications related to General Messages.
Turning on notifications for calls that don't result in a message
Sometimes, calls will come in that don't require agents to take a message, like wrong number calls or robocalls. With Flex, you can still receive a notification when these types of calls come through your line.
The Non-Message Calls section will list all script workflows you've created in your Flex account.
Use the Toggles to turn notifications of Non-Message Calls on or off for the specific Profile.
HIPAA Compliance Limitations
If your account requires HIPAA compliance to safeguard patients' Protected Health Information (PHI), you may see the following warnings in your Profiles and throughout your SAS Flex portal, letting you know what is and is not considered HIPAA compliant. Here are a few examples:
- PHI cannot be sent via SMS or Email, or via any SAS application.
- Automated Reach On-Call messages cannot contain PHI. This includes SMS and Text-to-Speech reach messages.
- Emails cannot be sent to the caller through any SAS application.
- You cannot add a Voicemail option to your IVR.
- Calls cannot be recorded.
- You cannot call in for your messages.
If you know that your account is not currently HIPAA compliant, please contact our Support team to assist you in ensuring that all requirements are met. You can read more about HIPAA and SAS in this article.
Using the Hold my Calls Feature
The Hold my Calls feature controls your warm transfer availability. If this feature is turned on, agents will not be able to transfer calls during the timeframe you've set. You may want transfers to be held for company meetings, early closures, or any other time you're too tied up to take calls!
This feature requires the Profile to be associated with a Warm Transfer block. If your Profile is not associated with a Warm Transfer block, you will see the below image:
- Indefinitely: If this option is chosen, we will hold all transfers until you deactivate the feature.
- Hold my calls until: If this option is chosen, you'll need to set a specific date and time. Once the set date and time have expired, we will begin transferring calls again.
If the timeframe you've set has expired, the button will say Hold expired instead.